XDU - Display the output of du in an X window
C Roff Makefile
Latest commit 2aabb7b Oct 10, 2017 @donald donald committed on GitHub Enterprise Merge pull request #6 from mariux64/fix-formatting
Fix formatting of `xdu.c`
Permalink
Failed to load latest commit information.
Makefile compiles like a charm Jul 18, 2017
README.md compiles like a charm Jul 18, 2017
XDu.ad compiles like a charm Jul 18, 2017
version.h xdu: small bang Jul 10, 2017
xdu.c xdu: Consistently indent with spaces Oct 5, 2017
xdu.man xdu: small bang Jul 10, 2017
xwin.c compiles like a charm Jul 18, 2017

README.md

xdu (patched) - display the output of du -k in an X window

xdu is a program for displaying a graphical tree of disk space utilization as reported by the UNIX utility du. You can navigate up and down in the tree, sort things, and print out information. See the manual page for details.

This version has been patched for more functions.

  • key n : change size display ( bytes, MiB, GiB, TiB )
  • key p : print as postscript
  • option -f : set postscript file name

This is a works-for-me release.

compilation

make

installation

cp

No autoconf, hg, docker, what-ever. Never. Ever. This is ~1500 lines of pure C. Get a life!

See the XDu.ad file if e.g. you have problems with the selected font.

usage

du -k /usr | xdu

This release was tested against MarIuX.

Revision History

Version 3.0p6 - Jul 10 2017

  • githubify
  • code cleanup for fixing bugs
  • works-for-me Makefile
  • -Wall -Werror -Wextra -pedantic
  • Peter Marquardt, marquardt_p@molgen.mpg.de

Version 3.0p5 - Feb 16 2012

Version 3.0p4 - Mar 16 2007

Version 3.0p3 - Apr 9 1997

  • new option -f and new key p
  • Marius Tolzmann, tolzmann@mpimg-berlin-dahlem.mpg.de

Version 3.0p2 - Oct 1 1998

  • added ability to print postscriptfiles Thr Oct 1 12:17 MET DST 1998 by
  • Marius Tolzmann, tolzmann@mpimg-berlin-dahlem.mpg.de

Version 3.0 5 - Jun 1994

  • X11R6 contrib release
  • Popup help window
  • Now uses Athena widgets, but no menus or buttons yet

Version 2.1 22 - Jul 1993

  • Fixed a bug in the sorting code where traversal back up a sorted tree could land you in the wrong parent directory.

Version 2.0 21 - Jul 1993

  • Added sorting.
  • Command line options.
  • More resources.
  • Better redraw behavior.
  • Bug fixes (to handle trailing slashes and directories with no or zero size information).

Version 1.1 5 - Oct 1991

  • Added resource control
  • Display of size information
  • More accurate label positioning

Version 1.0 4 - Sep 1991

  • First public release

Acknowledgements

xdu-3.0p

Marius Tolzmann m@rius.berlin Peter Marquardt marquardt_p@molgen.mpg.de

xdu-3.0

Bug reports and code fixes from:

Casey Leedom <casey@gauss.llnl.gov> Stephen Gildea <gildea@expo.lcs.mit.edu> Nelson Minar <nelson@reed.edu> Don Tiessen <dtiessen@silver.cs.umanitoba.ca> Gerry Tomlinson Gerry.Tomlinson@newcastle.ac.uk Mark Evans <mre1@itri.bton.ac.uk> Juha Takala <jta@piuha.sah.vtt.fi>

And the many others who told me what they thought about it.

Originally developed by:

Phil Dykstra, <phil@arl.mil> http://info.arl.mil/~phil/